Snake Dances; Shridevi, Debra Paget and more…

snake-dance-2.jpg
image from Janusmuseum

While searching for snake dances I discovered a stunning dance by American actress Debra Paget in the Orientalist German film, Indische Grabmal, Das -1959, directed by Fritz Lang…Debra wears a long black Indian braid and a nude coloured leotard that gives the impression she is just barely covered by a few pieces of silvery material…as she dances seductively before a large puppet cobra, in an underground temple to the “Goddess Sita” surrounded by white actors in brown make-up. Whether its Bollywood exoticizing the west or Fritz Lang exoticizing the east…some of the most striking performances come out of this exoticization…because it always seems “mysterious” to pretend to be something that seems out of reach, hidden behind veils of unfathomable traditional beliefs. I enjoy watching these dated exoticizations because what with satellite tv and travel becoming easier and easier…I guess we’re running out of places to exoticize as being “far far away”…and the accessibility of foreign locals doesn’t necessarily mean the diminishment of resentment for the “other”…it just means that the other has become something less obscure…more in your face…the world one large reality tv set with less hidden corners.

No one can forget Shridevi’s snake dance in “Nagina” 1989, with her her big beautiful piercing blue contact lensed eyes, her silvery costume, and the epic battle between a snake woman who loves her human man…and a corrupted yogi with his trishul and his snake-charmer flute(the incredible Amrish Puri)…nagina-2.jpgI find that the film (one of my all-time favorites) plays out two social parables at once;the first being…don’t assume that a snake is evil just because it is different (non-human)…but also…mother-in-law’s; if you don’t do a better background check on your son’s potential bride “tera bap kaun hai?”…you may discover your new bahu is a snake. But then, ultimately if you do discover your daughter-in-law is a snake…mind your own business. Don’t try to wreck your son’s marriage. Otherwise you will get stabbed by a trishul and die. The dance here takes place when the evil yogi tries to put the Nagina under his spell and she sings defiantly to him though she is unable to resist dancing… Check out her cobra kung fu moves at the end of the clip as she wipes out the yogis minions… lyrics for this song “mein teri dushman dushman” mean :

I am your enemy and you are my enemy-I am the snake and you are the snake charmer-since many life times we are both enemies- God will set everything straight-Today I will surely take revenge-Don’t tease me otherwise I’ll bite you-Magic and black magic are my toys-You will not be able to control me- I am a snake you are the snake charmer-By playing your pipe-you are trying to lure me-I am not going to come under your control- I will not be lured! a Saint has come as a dacoit-I am a snake you are the snake charmer-my story is on everyone’s lips-The one who I bite dies painfully-Everyone will see this drama-Lets see what happens now-You will not see tomorrow morning-I am a snake you are a snake charmer-

This is a pretty funny spoof on Shridevi’s snake dance…from the film hit, “Bride and Predjudice” 2004 also known in India as “Balle Balle Amritsar to L.A.” In case you haven’t seen it, its Gurinder Chadha’s comedic adaptation of Pride and Prejudice and in this scene one of the daughters, Maya (Meghna Kothari)
meghna-kothari-2.jpg
image from hindu
does a Shri-devi “cobra dance” to attempt to impress the house guests…but she gets a little carried away at the end and starts hissing at everyone and pretending to bite them with her cobra-hand-fangs.

And this just an interesting find…apparently the Snakedance is a lost dance form out of southern India. There are only 3 women in America who practice it. This is one of them…the dance style is completely different from the Bollywood Shridevi style…looks like it has some relation to belly-dancing…anyway she’s a lovely dancer…very slinky.

………………………………………………..snake-charmer-2-3.jpg
image from guboards

20 Comments

  1. You know, in the Firtz Lang clip with the snake dance, I actually loved the snake. It was fantastic!
    Do you have any clips where the snakes actually bite the ‘sexy chicks’ to death in the middle of their dances? I would pay to watch Sridevi froth from her mouth. In fact it would satisfy my Sridevi – Rabid Dog fetish quite well (I didn’t know I had one until I wrote those words)

  2. DEbra Paget was really nude when she dance with the snake and olnle covered with the silver like garments that you can see. They were adhered to her skin in different strategic points that with moderd sightseen can be clealy distict. They were little suction cups and probbably they use some adherent were kew before the good new syntetic were available.
    Back in the United States she tried to dance wearing similar garments buy they were not luck enough and had to stick them to leotars. Of couerse they look not good at all. Even, in Las Vegas, they were unsuccessfull. Because of that the most famous dances Debra ever performed were both fimed in Germany.

  3. It is evident that the silverlike pieces of garments were adhered to Debra skin with little suction cups and a pegamente likew Uhu was added. There were no good sintetic material those days and several scenes they say that had to be repeated.

    Howrever, Debra could not repeat the dance in Las Vegas, where she had to use leothars skin color that are clealy distinguigh en the pictures and movies produced en Nevada and otres places in United States.

  4. I saw Debra Paget danced almost nude. I could identify her skin and that was in Germany and in India. It could not be repeated in Las Vegas where they could not obtain good adhesion of the extremenly little pieces to cover a minimun part of her body, while dancing. Finaly, they use in the States Leothars. However y did not see ever a good picture or a natural sight of Debra Paget wearing a bikini, particularly a white ones, that were so ussefull to promote te movie carrees of Esther Williams and Ursula Andress.

  5. Well it is true that movie Debra Paget movie carrer was not promoted like those of Esther Williams white two pieces bating suit wering when she gave Michey Rooney an open mouth kiss being underwater or Ursula Andres wearing the white bikini in Dr. No, the first movie about of Agent 007. Howerver, Debra paget wore for danzing in two picures filmed in Germani, extremely little pieces of garments, that spectator could easily could imaging her to be almost nude.. Yes, she was the most sexy artis to apperar in a movie, up today.

  6. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I could I want
    to suggest you few interesting things or tips. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even more things about it!

  7. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about girlfrind. Regards

  8. Hello there! I just wish to offer you a huge thumbs up for your great
    info you’ve got here on this post. I’ll be coming back to your web site for more soon.

  9. I’ll immediately take hold of your rss as I can not find
    your email subscription link or e-newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Kindly permit me recognize so that I may subscribe.
    Thanks.

  10. Hello there, I found your site by means of Google whilst searching for a comparable subject,
    your website got here up, it appears great. I’ve bookmarked
    it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, just changed into aware of your weblog
    thru Google, and located that it’s really informative. I am going to
    be careful for brussels. I will be grateful in the event
    you proceed this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing.

    Cheers!

  11. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I was
    wondering which blog platform are you using for this website?

    I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform.
    I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  12. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout
    on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?

    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to
    see a great blog like this one these days.

  13. Howdy, i read your blog from time to time and i own
    a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam feedback?

    If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything
    you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any support is very much appreciated.

  14. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through
    Google, and found that it’s really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels.
    I will appreciate if you continue this in future.
    Numerous people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  15. I am really grateful to the holder of this website
    who has shared this wonderful piece of writing at here.

  16. WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for solid oak floor fitters london

  17. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest
    but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back in the future.
    Many thanks

  18. After I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked the
    -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from
    now on every time a comment is added I get 4 emails
    with the same comment. Perhaps there is a means you can remove me from that
    service? Thanks!

  19. Simply wish to say your article is as astounding. The clearness to your
    submit is just cool and that i could suppose you are an expert in this
    subject. Fine together with your permission allow me to clutch your feed
    to keep up to date with drawing close post. Thank you a million and please keep up the
    gratifying work.

  20. I’ve been surfing on-line greater than 3 hours these days,
    yet I never found any attention-grabbing
    article like yours. It is pretty value sufficient for me.

    In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made just right content material as you probably did, the web can be a
    lot more useful than ever before.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

